REALTOR® members gather each October for the Annual Membership business meeting that starts with networking and breakfast.  The business meeting includes election of officers and directors for the coming year and occasionally changes to the association bylaws.  Attendees receive information on a variety of topics including real estate commission updates, benefits, services, and more!

2017 Annual Meeting Recap

Thank you to all who attended this year's SMAR Annual Membership meeting on October 3, 2017.  We had a record attendance of 162 at the Jameson-Harrison American Legion Post 238, 6265 Brandywine Rd in Hughesville. Bill Castelli, Senior VP of Government Affairs for Maryland REALTORS® was on hand to provide a recap of new legislation this year. An Association update was provided by CEO David Jenkins and committee updates were provided by Kevin Turner & Theresa Kuhns (Legislative & RPAC), Lindsay Clark (Community Relations & YPN), and Billy Fitzgerald (Commercial). For the first time, the announcement for elected Officers & Directors were streamed on Facebook Live. The following reports may be downloaded here: LegislativeRPACGeneral Membership Report.

2017 Annual Meeting

Congratulations to:

  • President Elect Judy Szynborski (Term Exp Oct 31, 2018)
  • Vice President Chris Hill (Term Exp Oct 31, 2018)
  • Secretary/Treasurer Christopher (Chris) Moore (Term Exp Oct 31, 2018)
  • Calvert County Director Deborah Buckingham (Term Exp Oct 31, 2019)
  • Charles County Director Lindsay Clark (Term Exp Oct 31, 2019)
  • Charles County Director Tanya Redding (Term Exp Oct 31, 2019)
  • St Mary's County Director Connie Lord (Term Exp Oct 31, 2019)

They will join President Kathy Suite; Outgoing President Lisa Van Tassel; Calvert County Director Dawn Riley; Charles County Director Aimee Johnson; and St. Mary's County Directors Billy Fitzgerald and Karrie Gonzalez.  Thank you to outgoing members Steve Paul, Immediate Past President, Vice-President Kendra McCourt, Charles County Directors Craig Gough and Gregg Kantak, and Director-At-Large Jennifer Jones. A summary of activities was presented by Community Relations Committee Member & YPN Chair Lindsay Clark and Commercial Committee Chair Billy Fitzgerald. Be sure to join us on Monday, October 16th at the Mechanicsville Fire Hall as we install President Kathy Suite and the other newly elected board members.